Clan News

Search Our Site

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

Connacht have announced their starting XV for the visit of the Newport-Gwent Dragons on Friday.

15 Gavin Duffy (C)

14 Brian Tuohy

13 Eoin Griffin

12 Henry Fa'afili

11 Tiernan O'Halloran

10 Niall O'Connor

9 Frank Murphy

1 Brett Wilkinson

2 Ethienne Reynecke

3 Rodney Ah You

4 Dave Gannon

5 Mike McCarthy

6 John Muldoon

7 Johnny O'Connor

8 Ray Ofisa


16 Adrian Flavin

17 Ronan Loughney

18 Dylan Rogers

19 Mick Kearney

20 TJ Anderson

21 Paul O'Donohoe

22 Mathew Jarvis

23 James Loxton

Brian Touhy is back in the starting side and Niall O'Connor wins his place on the side back after some poor penalties misses from our new running outhalf Matthew Jarvis. Tuohy was last years top try-scorer for Connacht so perhaps his inclusion alongside NOC indicates that Elwood is ruing the failure to convert good territory and possession into points during the defeat at the hands of Edinburgh last week.

In the pack the Saffa hooker Ethienne Reynecke is included and Dave Gannon makes a welcome return to his home province, providing cover for an under-the-weather Michael Swift. Mick Kearney, ex-Ireland U-20 and Clontarf man, who was brought into the Connacht Academy this year, makes the jump to the bench.

All in all an attacking side, and with the Dragons having their own injury issues this one should be a win for Connacht.

Log in to comment